Nvidia Texture Tools 2020 - It's great, but -

Hello,

I hope I’ve come to the right place to voice this.

I’m a developer and texture artist in the flight simulation scene. Today, I found the new version of Nvidia’s texture tools 2020 of which the previous version (for CS6), I found myself using almost every day with restrictions on certain features that caused endless crashing when enabled/clicked on accidentally. I prefer the newer versions of Photoshop CC to CS6 so as you can imagine, I and many other texture artists in the community were in need of a modern version of Nvidia’s texture tools.

Thus far, I’m really fond of the new innovations this plugin has brought to the export process with its new UI and options, however, the downfall is that a feature we heavily relied on upon in the past no longer exists: Save Flipped Vertically!

This is an essential feature for games which require the DDS to be flipped vertically on save. It would be amazing if this could be brought back so I can switch to this tool for good.

I partially echo the concerns of the individual who made this post, Nvidia texture tool exporter make bad DDS files, but I don’t wish to delve into it as it seems to be on your radar.

A feature from the previous version which I’d love to be seen brought to fruition is ‘Profiles’, I can output many contrasting textures for different game platforms requiring several parameter changes, this would be great to load in pre-saved profiles with the correct parameters selected.

Furthermore, for the standalone version of texture tools, I’d admire to see a batch texture export feature. A use case scenario for this would be that Substance Painter does not export DDS out of the box or with a readily available plugin, meaning my workflow for this would be to export to .tga, open the texture in Photoshop and save it using the old version of Nvidia Texture Tools. This is strenuous and downright boring when it comes to exporting 15 textures.