Object detection with custom dataset

Hi, currently i am trying to train a object detection model following the Hello AI World Tutorial. I already have a custom dataset and done labelling via LabelImg. I followed the steps in retraining the model in the tutorial, but i am getting TypeError: init() missing 1 required positional argument: ‘dtype’ error. Kindly help me as i am a beginner in this and it is for my school project. Below i have pasted a sc of the error statement. Thank you.

Hi @rishivaran95, LabelImg doesn’t typically organize the images in Pascal VOC directory structure, hence I recommend to use CVAT tool (with CVAT all you need to do is make a labels.txt)

If you download the Pascal VOC dataset, yours should be organized the same way. Or did you already do that?

Hi @dusty_nv sorry for the late reply, my directory structure is in the Pascal VOC format (Annotations, JPEGImages, ImageSets) already however when i try to run the train_ssd.py from the tutorial i still get the same error. Is there any changes i have to make since i am using a custom dataset?

Hi @rishivaran95, can you upload your dataset to Google Drive or somewhere so I can take a look?

Hi @dusty_nv here’s a drive link i have uploaded the dataset there. Dataset - Google Drive. Thanks

Thanks @rishivaran95, I requested access to the download.

Hi @rishivaran95, I was able to run the training on your dataset without needing to modify it - however, I found that the training took up more memory than usual because your images are large (5033x3355). So it may be that you were running low on memory. You may want to try these suggestions:

Baring that, you may want to make your training images smaller (but then you would also need to rescale the annotations). It may be easier for you to rescale the annotation bounding box coordinates in the dataloader code than changing the XML files.