Programing Jetson Nano with C++

Hello,

i am totally newbie with Jetson Nano and i have some questions about Nano and C++ (in fact, i am a newbie for many things concerning Jetson Nano) :

Does Nano Developer Kit provides the tools to be able to create C++ programs ?

My purpose is to create C++ programs using Opencv and Cuda.

I suppose a C++ compiler is provided. If the answer is yes, which compiler is it ?

Is there an IDE for C++ provided with the developer kit ? If yes, which one, if no, which IDE pour C++ would you recommend to me ?

Is GTK+ provided with the developer kit ? It seems Qt is not provided with the Nano dev kit (we have to compile Qt if we want to use it. Am i correct ?

Would i prefer Qt rather than GTK+ ? If yes, why ?

To get opencv with Cuda, i suppose i must compile opencv 4.1.0 ?

I think i can manage opencv but concerning Cuda, do you have a pdf document which explains Cuda, step by step ?

I will make image treatment, using routines like blur, gaussain blur, denoise, sharpen, unsharp mask, histogram stretch, Clahe filter, etc. If i have to write those filters using Cuda, do you have some documentation about how to use Cuda to make such filters ?

In fact, i would like first to setup Jetson Nano to get working environment to create C++ software using opencv, Cuda, GTK+ (or Qt) quite quickly because i don’t want to spend too much time getting a working environment. I would prefer to spend my time learning C++, Cuda and GTK+ (or Qt) to develop my software.

Many thanks for your highlights !

Alain

1 Like

Yes, it provides GCC version 7.4. Because it’s Ubuntu, it could also use CLang, but you may run into compatibility problems with some C++ shared libraries if you use that.

Ubuntu comes with any number of IDEs you can install, although I’d recommend starting with something Terminal-based (vim or emacs) or the simple gedit editor to start with.