Setting up 10gb in my Lab - Help

ok so I started this post over at hardforum.com but figured … why wouldn’t I put it there???

Ok so I’m new to this and I have a test lab at work.

I have 4 esxi boxes - will get to them later

a windows 10 pc (dell precision 5810)

Our guys were getting rid of a mess of hardware so I grabbed it and figured time to play around.

I stuck a mellanox card in the win10 box and drivers installed, albeit, MS drivers. but it seems to be good?

I also connected a cable to the switch and the light on the switch lit up but in win10 the NIC says cable unattached.

switch - Flextronics F-x430066 8 Port 4x SDR Infiniband

cable - Mellanox Mcc4l30-300 Microgigacn Latch 0.3 M Infiniband Cable

cards - HPE InfiniBand 4X DDR Conn-X PCI-E G2 Dual Port HCA (483514-B21)

so few questions…

1. what is needed on win10 side other than what I have done?
  2. if I put another card in a secondary pc, and just attach both to the switch, just give static IP’s and that is it?

ill just start with them…thx

So over there I have pics. I cant put pics here so a bit harder…

Ill add it here by copying the text…

in Windows 10 dev manager - shows using Microsoft drivers

ipoib6x.sys - 4/25/2018 ver. 5.50.14643.0

C:>mst status -v

MST devices:

mt26418_pci_cr0 bus:dev.fn=01:00.0

mt26418_pciconf0 bus:dev.fn=01:00.0

C:>mlxfwmanager -d mt26418_pci_cr0 --query

Querying Mellanox devices firmware …

FATAL - Can’t find device id.

FATAL - Can’t find device id.

Device #1:

Device Type: N/A

Part Number: –

Description:

PSID:

PCI Device Name: mt26418_pci_cr0

Port1 MAC: N/A

Port1 GUID: N/A

Port2 MAC: N/A

Port2 GUID: N/A

Versions: Current Available

FW –

It is indeed a rare “oldies components” that you’re trying to put together…

Here is the current status with the components:

Starting with HP adapter “HP IB 4X DDR Conn-X PCI-e G2”