Several Questions Regarding the IMX327 Camera Device Tree:

Hello everyone in the forum,
I am a beginner developer currently using Jetson Orin NX and I am learning about camera drivers and device tree writing. However, I have encountered some confusion:

Question 1: I am using the l4t_35.4.1 environment setup package and decompiled the system’s device tree file system_devicetree.dts in the /boot/dtb directory. In the system’s device tree, I found a node called cam_i2cmux. Could anyone explain what the purpose of this node is? Does it correspond to specific hardware?

Question 2: Additionally, a senior colleague has previously written the device tree and drivers for three IMX327 cameras, and I am currently studying his code. I noticed that he placed the settings for different camera modes under the i2c@3180000 node and added a tca9548 node. I understand that the tca9548 is an I2C multiplexer, but why do I not see this multiplexer node in the system_devicetree.dts file? Moreover, why didn’t my senior use the default cam_i2c multiplexer node? Is there any relevant documentation from NVIDIA regarding cam_i2cmux and tca9548? If so, could you recommend it to me?

Question 3: In the Jetson Orin NX Series and Jetson Orin Nano Series Product Design Guide document, I saw that the NX processor seems to use only 4 I2C interfaces. However, when I decompiled the device tree file, I found 9 I2C nodes. How are these I2C nodes and their address information determined?

Hello @2018302080149

It’s great to hear that you are learning camera driver development.
At the beginning it might feel a bit overwhelming, but you will see that once you start to understand the system it becomes fairly simple.

Please allow me to answer your questions one by one.