Shared memory optimization for algorithm accessing neighbors

Hello, I’m a CUDA beginner and practiced with this exercise https://agray3.github.io/files/learnCUDApractical.pdf
In the second assignment, a kernel for image reconstruction should be optimized. The final kernel looks like this:

__global__ void inverseEdgeDetect2D(float *d_output, float *d_input, \
				    float *d_edge) 
{ 
  int col, row; 
  int idx, idx_south, idx_north, idx_west, idx_east; 
  int numcols = N + 2; 

col = blockIdx.x*blockDim.x + threadIdx.x + 1;
  row = blockIdx.y*blockDim.y + threadIdx.y + 1; 

idx = row * numcols + col; 
  idx_south = (row - 1) * numcols + col; 
  idx_north = (row + 1) * numcols + col; 
  idx_west = row * numcols + (col - 1); 
  idx_east = row * numcols +(col + 1); 

d_output[idx] = (d_input[idx_south] + d_input[idx_west] + d_input[idx_north] 
              + d_input[idx_east] - d_edge[idx]) * 0.25; 
}

For each iteration of the algorithm, each element in the image matrix accesses its four neighbors (an outer, 1 pixel wide halo is added to the image such that the edge elements have 4 neighbors). Therefore, each element in global memory d_input will be accessed up to 4 times. As far as I understand, accesses to elements at idx_south and idx_north are not coalesced, so they will not be cached. Therefore an optimization with shared memory should be achievable. This is my attempt:

__global__ void inverseEdgeDetect2D_shmem(float *d_output, float *d_input, \
				    float *d_edge) 
{ 
  int col, row; 
  int idx, idx_south, idx_north, idx_west, idx_east; 
  int numcols = N + 2; 

col = blockIdx.x*blockDim.x + threadIdx.x + 1; 
  row = blockIdx.y*blockDim.y + threadIdx.y + 1; 

idx = row * numcols + col; 

__shared__ float shmem[34][34];
  // copy inner values of 32x32 block into shmem
  shmem[threadIdx.y+1][threadIdx.x+1] = d_input[idx];

// copy outer values into shmem
  int tid = threadIdx.y * blockDim.x + threadIdx.x;
  int i = tid % 32 + 1;