slow kernel

Hi all,

I am new to CUDA so bear with me. I am using the Quadro NVS 290 card to do a simple matrix multiplication. I am timing my kernel execution and duplicate serialized algorithm running on the CPU with CUDA event timers. The problem is that my serial cpu code is actually running faster than my kernel code. Any help would greatly be appreciated. The following is my kernel code and my serial cpu code:

//kernel invoke:

dim3 dimBlock(500);
dim3 dimGrid(2);

cudaEvent_t start, stop;
cudaEventCreate(&start);
cudaEventCreate(&stop);

cudaEventRecord(start, 0);

for(int $ = 0; $ < 1000; $++)
matrix_Mult<<<dimGrid,dimBlock>>>(d_Matrix, d_Multiplier, $);

cudaMemcpy(h_Matrix, d_Matrix, matrix_Size, cudaMemcpyDeviceToHost);

cudaEventRecord(stop, 0);
cudaEventSynchronize(stop);

float elapsedTime;
cudaEventElapsedTime(&elapsedTime, start, stop);

//kernel code:

/*********************************************
*Kernel to run Matrix Multiply
*matrix is a 1000 X 1000 array
*******************************************/
global
void matrix_Mult(float
matrix, float
multiplier, int x)
{
int i = threadIdx.x;
int y = blockIdx.x;
//int x = ((blockIdx.x * 500 + i) % 1000);
float z = matrix[i + (y * 500) + (x * 1000)];
float v = multiplier[i + (y * 500)];
float b = z * v;

matrix[i + (y * 500) + (x * 1000)] = v;

}

//serial cpu code:

void matrixMultiply( float* matrix, float* multiplier)
{
for(int i = 0; i < 1000 ; i++)
{
for(int j = 0; j < 1000; j++)
{
matrix[i * 1000 + j] = matrix[i * 1000 + j] * multiplier[j];
}

}
}

Your computation is linear in the number of elements of the matrix. To copy it to the device and back will always take about the same time as accessing each element once and making some simple computation with it on CPU. I think there is no point accelerating linear complexity algorithms like this, unless you plan to make more calculations.

About your code. You should exclude memory copying from the timing.

And the kernel is not good: