Some questions about the multimedia

Hi,

I’m a beginner for Jetson. I want to learn about multimedia. The following are my questions.

1. Is the gstreamer-1.0 included in the Jetpack?

2. What is the relationship among the components(libargus, nvarguscamerasrc and v4l2src)? What are their differences in use? I want to clarify their relationship.

3. In the ds4.0 config file, the type of source 1 is Camera (V4L2), Is this used for the camera which does not use Tegra ISP (CSI Interface)?

Thanks.

Hi,

Yes. sdkmanager installs 3rdpary gstreamer packages and also NVIDIA-developed plugins.

libargus is in low-level tegra_multimedia_api. Samples are in /usr/src/tegra_multimedia_api. If you use DS4.0, you may stick with gstreamer. nvarguscamerasrc is for Bayer sensors which leverages ISP engine. v4l2src is for YUV sensors and USB cameras.

Yes. It is v4l2src.

Hi,

I found the camera architecture stack:
External Media
I still have two qusetions:

1.Why doesn’t V4L2 Application link V4L2src? What is the relationship between them?

2.Why do GStreamer Application link both V4L2src and nvarguscamerasrc? What is the calling process between them?

Thanks.

Hi,

V4L2 Applicaion is like below sample:

tegra_multimedia_api\samples\v4l2cuda

It runs frame capture through v4l2 interfaces.
v4l2src is a gstreamer plugin implemented based on v4l2 interfaces.

It shows Gstreamer Application can use either v4l2src or nvcamerasrc, not link both.

For example, you can run

$ gst-launch-1.0 nvarguscamerasrc ! nvoverlaysink

or

$ gst-launch-1.0 v4l2src device=/dev/video1 ! video/x-raw,format=YUY2,width=848,height=480,framerate=30/1 ! nvvidconv ! 'video/x-raw(memory:NVMM),format=NV12' ! nvoverlaysink

Hi,

I know clearly now.
I have two qusetions:

1. In the camera architecture stack, What is Camera Core? In other words, what’s file in it?

2. I want to know whether the direct format from MIPI CSI Camera output is YUV?

Thanks.

Hi,

It is dirver lower then libnvargus.so.