Tesla V100 16 GB currently on Hyper-V with DDA - Any advantages using Quadro vDWS?

Hello.
I’m new to all this vGPU world and I received a server with 4 Tesla V100 (16GB). I had to install windows server 2019 with Hyper-V and configured it with Discrete Device Assignment (DDA) because, from what I read until now, there is yet no way for hyper-v to distribute the GPU across all VMs. But, I also read that a microsoft solution might be underway soon.

Today I came across Nvidia vGPU. Supposedly, Quadro vDWS should be the software to install (the server hardware is fully supported), but does it still require Hyper-V with DDA? If so, does this mean I can only have 4 VMs using the 4 GPUs available? If that’s the case, I don’t understand the purpose of using Quadro vDWS. My goal is is to make the 4 GPUs available to all existing VMs.
Thanks and regards
David

Hi

The problem is Hyper-V, not Windows, NVIDIA, the V100s or vDWS.

If you switch Hypervisor to one that supports vGPU, you’ll have far more functionality available. XenServer, vSphere, KVM, AHV, they all work with vGPU. Hyper-V is the one that doesn’t. You’ll need to use DDA (Passthrough) if you want to carry on down that road, and yes, that will limit you to 4 VMs, 1 per GPU, as you can’t virtualise them (with Hyper-V).

As for vDWS, that’s part of a 4 tier licensing model. vApps, vPC, vCS, vDWS. Each version allows different functionality, with vDWS being at the top.

Out of interest, what was your planned use case?

Regards

MG

1 Like

Thanks for the reply. So if I understand it correctly, even if we buy the vDWS package it won’t be possible to make the 4 GPUs available for all VMs? But if so, I can’t see any advantage of using it with Hyper-V and still it is available for purchase?!

On the "NVIDIA VIRTUAL GPU PACKAGING, PRICING AND LICENSING" document I read yesterday (from June 2019) Hyper-V is supported and the recommend license is Quadro vDWS.