Unable to install newer version of CUDA (Failed to initialize NVML: Driver/library version mismatch)

Hi,

I am a newbie here, so please bear with me. I am trying to upgrade the CUDA version but when I install the newest version the driver that gets installed (495) doesn’t seem to be compatible with my computer. The screen display gets all messed up and nvidia-smi gives this error: Failed to initialize NVML: Driver/library version mismatch. Rebooting does nothing, problem is still there.

When I look into the recommended driver for my computer is 470. So I uninstalled and installed 470 and nvidia-smi now shows:

±----------------------------------------------------------------------------+
| NVIDIA-SMI 470.57.02 Driver Version: 470.57.02 CUDA Version: 11.4 |
|-------------------------------±---------------------±---------------------+
| GPU Name Persistence-M| Bus-Id Disp.A | Volatile Uncorr. ECC |
| Fan Temp Perf Pwr:Usage/Cap| Memory-Usage | GPU-Util Compute M. |
| | | MIG M. |
|===============================+======================+======================|
| 0 NVIDIA GeForce … On | 00000000:03:00.0 N/A | N/A |
| 21% 45C P5 N/A / N/A | 213MiB / 980MiB | N/A Default |
| | | N/A |
±------------------------------±---------------------±---------------------+

| Processes: |
| GPU GI CI PID Type Process name GPU Memory |
| ID ID Usage |
|=============================================================================|
| No running processes found |

If I do a simple sudo apt install nvidia-cuda-toolkit, I end up with version 9.1. I would like to upgrade it and my gpu is still supported. I have a GeForce GTX 650 and I am running on Ubuntu 18.04.

My ultimate goal is to get Pytorch to be gpu enabled, as it currently can’t with CUDA 9.1.

Any help would be super appreciated! I’m quite lost here.

Hi,

Yes, there are a few things going on here.

Your GTX 650 is a Cuda Capability 3.0 Kepler card, which is not supported by drivers above 470.X.