Using tex2D for unsigned short/char

Hi,

I’m looking for the fastest way to interpolate an integer-valued (uint8/16) image.
The interpolation should be bilinear and the resulting array should be encoded in single floats (32 bits).

I tried using textures and tex2D, but i had to cast everything into float2, i didn’t manage to make it directly from uint8/16.

I saw that i could use cudaArrays, but the content of my texture is going to change every frame (at a really high frame rate), is it still a good solution ?

I am totally new to the use of textures, I’ll be grateful for any suggestions.

that works for sure.

you have to set the filter mode and read mode to the proper values.

See any tutorial on the cuda texture function or the example at setting up a CUDA 2D "unsigned char" texture for linear interpolation - Stack Overflow

Btw: I would use texture objects instead global texture references.

There is a caveat when using integer textures though (or at least there was the last time I tried it) which is that the it won’t produce non-integer values. For some reason it seems to do the interpolation before the promotion to float.

As is explained in the CUDA Programming Guide section G.2 , all hardware texture interpolation happens using a fixed-point format:

Note the 8-bits of fraction which match the 8 bits in an unsigned integer, explaining your observation. Where higher-quality interpolation is required, use single-precision FMAs, the GPU provides copious throughput for those (“too cheap to meter”).

I am aware of that fixed point format limitation that you mention but the way I understand it that just means that the sampling coordinate is effectively rounded to a 1/256th of a texel (and this happens regardless of whether the texture is float or int).