what does the "dimension" of a block(or grid) mean some basic idea of CUDA

Hi, anyone,

I’m now very interested in CUDA though I’m a totally freshman.

My GPU is GTX 260+, from the device query in the GPU SDK, we can see that
“maximum size of each dimension of a block: 51251264”
“maximum size of each dimension of a grid: 65535655351”
Can anyone give me a detail description on what the above mean? For example, for a block, does “51251264” mean that the block has three dimensions, and we can assign at most 512 threads along X-axis, 512 threads along Y-axis, 64 threads along Z-axis? If not ,what does the number “512” and “64” mean?

Thanks a lot

Hi, anyone,

I’m now very interested in CUDA though I’m a totally freshman.

My GPU is GTX 260+, from the device query in the GPU SDK, we can see that
“maximum size of each dimension of a block: 51251264”
“maximum size of each dimension of a grid: 65535655351”
Can anyone give me a detail description on what the above mean? For example, for a block, does “51251264” mean that the block has three dimensions, and we can assign at most 512 threads along X-axis, 512 threads along Y-axis, 64 threads along Z-axis? If not ,what does the number “512” and “64” mean?

Thanks a lot

I think block dimension is capacity of thread in block for that dimension. But for block, there’s maximum in # of threads.
So dim_x * dim_y * dim_z <= maximum thread in a block need to be satisfied.

Same idea for Grid dimension too.

I think block dimension is capacity of thread in block for that dimension. But for block, there’s maximum in # of threads.
So dim_x * dim_y * dim_z <= maximum thread in a block need to be satisfied.

Same idea for Grid dimension too.

that is correct. i was confused about this too. see http://forums.nvidia.com/lofiversion/index.php?t177420.html

threadDim does not exist.

blockDim is how many threads in a block.

gridDim is how many blocks in a grid.