32 x 32 Matrix Multiplication

Hey guys,

I’m a beginner in CUDA. I’ve been trying to write a code to implement a 32x32 Matrix-Matrix Multiplication (For eg: A 32x1 Matrix multiplied by a 1x32 Matrix).

My system runs on Windows 7 Ultimate x86 and I use Visual Studio 2005 for now. My GPUs are dual 8800GTS in SLI running 196.21 drivers.

Now the problem is quite simple, wrong output! :)

Just to brief you, i’ve used 4 blocks, each generating 256 threads (16x16 to be precise), thus generating 256x4=1024 threads to perform the multiplication.

Just to keep things simple, I haven’t used shared memory. The objective is to write as simple a program as possible, and once that’s done, can move ahead to optimize it using shared memory.

I hope my code is self-explanatory, i’ve commented where necessary. Please have a look and do post in what the fault could be.

Thanks a lot for your help in advance!

[codebox]// 32 x 32 Matrix Multiplication

#include<stdio.h>

#include<conio.h>

#include<cuda.h>

global void mul_multipleblocks(int *a, int *b, int *c,int width)

{

int row,col,sum,k,m,n;

row=blockIdx.y*blockDim.y + threadIdx.y; //To calculate the row index of the ‘c’ element and ‘a’

col=blockIdx.x*blockDim.x + threadIdx.x; // To calculate the column index of the ‘c’ element and ‘b’

sum=0;

for (k=0; k<width; k++)

{

sum=a[rowwidth+k] * b[kwidth+col]; //Each thread computes one element of the block sub-matrix

}

c[row*width+col]=sum; // Product element stored in Matrix c

}

void main()

{

int i,j,m,n,p,q;

int *a_h,*b_h,*a_d,*b_d,*c_h,*c_d;			//a_h, b_h, c_h are host pointers to matrices A, B and C, while a_d, b_d and c_d are device pointers to matrices A, B and C

printf("Enter Matrix A order:\n");

scanf("%d%d",&m,&n);						// Matrix A = m x n

printf("Enter Matrix B order:\n");

scanf("%d%d",&p,&q);						// Matrix B = p x q

if(n==p)								// Check multiplication compatibility

{