Black screen on TTYs/during shutdown from 450.* on, on a GTX 680

I’ve been using Arch for a few years now with an nvidia GTX 680, using nvidia-dkms on a self-compiled kernel (-ck patch). This worked well, up to (and including) nvidia version 440.100-1.

Beginning with 450.57-1, however, while I can boot just fine (initrd messages showing up, SDDM login showing up, can login into the DE (KDE/Plasma 5) and use the graphical session perfectly), I can not switch to any of the TTYs using CTRL+ALT+F*.

When I do so, the screen turns black and the monitors even go into stand-by mode due to no signal. I can switch back to my graphical session and it shows up fine. Same thing when I shut down: with the older (working) nvidia version, it will show me the shutdown messages and tell me which services are being stopped etc. With the new nvidia version, the screens go black/stand-by again until the PC shuts off fully. This issue started with version 450.57-1 (which is the first non-440 driver available in Arch Linux, so the first 450.* that I was able to easily test) and even with the up-to-date version (455.28-1; released 10 days ago in the Arch Linux repo), I still have exactly the same issue.

Important: This also happens with the official kernel, not just my self-compiled one. I tried enabling DRM kernel mode setting by adding the relevant modules into my initcpio and adding options nvidia_drm modeset=1 to /etc/modprobe.d, but this only makes it worse: Early in the boot process, after barely showing a few messages, the screen turns black/stand-by and will not turn back on until it has fully booted up and displays the SDDM login screen.
It feels like as soon the nvidia driver “takes over”, the non-graphic terminals are broken.