Catastrophic error: Compilation Problem on XP

Hi All,
I just started learning CUDA and have installed the 1.0v of it. While compiling one of the examples from the SDK I am facing some issues.

What I am doing is that I have copied the boxFilter example at a different location, since I wanted to see as to what are the settings required for VS2005.
So this is the error what I am getting, when I compile the boxFilter.cu file.

1>------ Build started: Project: NewBoxFilter, Configuration: Debug Win32 ------
1>Compiling…
1>Catastrophic error: could not open source file “boxFilter.cu”
1>1 catastrophic error detected in the compilation of “boxFilter.cu”.
1>Compilation terminated.

The command line argument which I am passing is as follows

nvcc.exe -ccbin “C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\VC\bin” -deviceemu -c -DWIN32 -D_DEBUG -D_CONSOLE -Xcompiler “/EHsc /W3 /nologo /Wp64 /O2 /Zi /MTd " -I"c:/cuda/include” -I"C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\NVIDIA CUDA SDK\common\inc" -o Debug\NewBoxFilter.obj NewBoxFilter.vcproj

Am kind of stuck at this point as I didnt find much info about it on this fourm.

Any advice would be highly appreciated

~S

Hi sandeepvirdi,

Shouldn’t it rather be something like:

nvcc.exe -ccbin "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\VC\bin" -deviceemu -c -DWIN32 -D_DEBUG -D_CONSOLE -Xcompiler "/EHsc /W3 /nologo /Wp64 /O2 /Zi /MTd " -I"c:/cuda/include" -I"C:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\NVIDIA CUDA SDK\common\inc" -o Debug\NewBoxFilter.obj NewBoxFilter.cu

Note the NewBoxFilter.cu at the end of the nvcc invocation (might be a copy-past error). If you have renamed your cu-source file, you must also change this accordingly in the nvcc command line, as long as I know.

Eric

Hello Eric,