Communicating with UART through J21 pins

Hi,

I’m quite new to the Jetson series. Normally for embedded type devices there is a specified address I write to for pins. I’ve done a fair bit of research on my own but I honestly have no idea how to figure out what files people are talking about when they say things like “compare the values in the header files to what’s in the pinmux”. Can someone either help me understand everything I need to look at to map out J21 pins in order to communicate with them? Or is there a tutorial that exists?

Just FYI, some pins can take on different functions depending on device tree settings. It is a case of having more functions available than pins…but only needing some functions, so you name which function goes to which pin. The device tree does this, and changing is known as the pinmux. There is a spreadsheet macro which can create the device tree files for any custom setup (to some extent the procedure depends on which L4T version you are using…see “head -n 1 /etc/nv_tegra_release”).

The default use of J21 serial port is as serial console. You probably don’t want to use those pins since serial console is important and disabling this first takes significant effort (not only does the Linux kernel configure for this, so does U-Boot).

J17 next to J21 routes to the camera port. If you do not use the serial communications to the camera, then this is probably what you want. It’s a standard 3.3V TTL level UART. It’s default settings is 115200 8N1. On the Linux side you point your communications to file “/dev/ttyTHS2”.

NOTE: Regular UART devices are named something like “ttyS0”, but the ttyTHS notation is used when the NVIDIA driver provides DMA transfer. Mostly “ttyTHS2” use would be exactly the same as if you had used “ttyS2” without DMA. It won’t change how you talk to the port.

That’s good to know. Is there a way to modify the device tree without re-flashing the image on the TX1?