CUDA beginner: understanding the workflow of CUDA kernels and cudaDeviceSynchronize()

Hello,

I am very new to the multi-threaded/parallel implementations of code using CUDA. I am messing around with one of the codes developed by Nvidia available at GitHub - dusty-nv/jetson-inference: Hello AI World guide to deploying deep-learning inference networks and deep vision primitives with TensorRT and NVIDIA Jetson.

I want to utilize the data in one of the main processing loops for one of the files, let’s say for example https://github.com/dusty-nv/jetson-inference/blob/master/detectnet-camera/detectnet-camera.cpp

Here is the code inside the loop:

while( !signal_recieved )
	{
		void* imgCPU  = NULL;
		void* imgCUDA = NULL;

// get the latest frame
		if( !camera->Capture(&imgCPU, &imgCUDA, 1000) )
			printf("\ndetectnet-camera:  failed to capture frame\n");

// convert from YUV to RGBA
		void* imgRGBA = NULL;

if( !camera->ConvertRGBA(imgCUDA, &imgRGBA) )
			printf("detectnet-camera:  failed to convert from NV12 to RGBA\n");

// classify image with detectNet
		int numBoundingBoxes = maxBoxes;

if( net->Detect((float*)imgRGBA, camera->GetWidth(), camera->GetHeight(), bbCPU, &numBoundingBoxes, confCPU))
		{
			printf("%i bounding boxes detected\n", numBoundingBoxes);

int lastClass = 0;
			int lastStart = 0;

for( int n=0; n < numBoundingBoxes; n++ )
			{
				const int nc = confCPU[n*2+1];
				float* bb = bbCPU + (n * 4);

printf("bounding box %i   (%f, %f)  (%f, %f)  w=%f  h=%f\n", n, bb[0], bb[1], bb[2], bb[3], bb[2] - bb[0], bb[3] - bb[1]); 

if( nc != lastClass || n == (numBoundingBoxes - 1) )
				{
					if( !net->DrawBoxes((float*)imgRGBA, (float*)imgRGBA, camera->GetWidth(), camera->GetHeight(), 
						                        bbCUDA + (lastStart * 4), (n - lastStart) + 1, lastClass) )
						printf("detectnet-console:  failed to draw boxes\n");

lastClass = nc;
					lastStart = n;
/* ADD SOME CPU PROCESSING CODE HERE !! */
					CUDA(cudaDeviceSynchronize());
				}