CUDA on Windows without Visual Studio IDE?

I am trying to get a cuda 11 dev environment set up on windows. We have MSVC 2019 build tools already for general C++ compilation. Is there any way to get CUDA to compile without a full Visual Studio IDE installed?

Due to licensing I am unable to use VS Community edition and it will take to long to procure a VS Professional licence.

I know CUDA is unable to install the visual studio integrations / plugins without the full IDE but is there any other supported configuration to enable just building using only the MSVC build tools?

Thanks

You do not need the Visual Studio IDE to program in CUDA. In fact I have been using MSVS Professional and CUDA on Windows for 14 years and have never used the IDE. If you are comfortable with gmake and makefiles, you can build your projects using the same command line tools that the MSVS IDE uses under the hood. For simple CUDA programs, you can just compile with the CUDA compiler driver nvcc from the commandline.

I even still use the traditional bare bones “Command Prompt” instead of the more capable PowerShell. I install Cygwin on all my Windows systems, so I’d probably rather use bash if the need arose.

I don’t know what “only the MSVC build tools” refers to. From personal experience (in the US), procuring a single-user MSVS 2019 Professional license takes about 15 minutes altogether, with five minutes of that spent on finding the page where they let you purchase a non-subscription version.

For context, I am porting a linux CUDA application over to Windows. By MSVC build tools I meant “Build Tools for Visual Studio 2019”. These Build Tools allow you to build Visual Studio projects from a command-line interface. This is how all the other C++ builds are currently done for windows in this environment, with no full IDE Visual Studio installation.