Which free IDE works with Cuda Toolkit?

Hi everyone,

I am a high school student/gamer want to learn parallel computing with Cuda. I don’t have Visual Studio, what other option(s) do I have?

Thanks in advance.

–Jeffrey

You don’t need an IDE to build CUDA, you can use makefiles and commandline tools. However, if you are on Windows, you will need a version of MSVS for use with CUDA, as that is the only supported host toolchain. I think there is a free “Community Edition” of MSVS, but I don’t know anything about it.

Thanks, I am not sure if VS Community Edition or VS Code IDE would work with Cuda, when I installed Cuda toolkit, it said VS 2010, 2013, 2015 or something like that missing.

Assume VS Code and Community Edition work, how to compile and run Cuda program in those environments? I am just trying to compile and run a simple console/text based Cuda program to get started.

I don’t use IDEs and my (not very popular) recommendation is not to use them. To build a simple console application from a single source file test.cu, simply invoke:

nvcc -o test.exe test.cu

Done. As I said, to get this far you need to have supported version MSVS installed. The CUDA documentation enumerates supported MSVS versions.

I don’t use IDEs and my (not very popular) recommendation is not to use them. To build a simple console application from a single source file test.cu, simply invoke:

nvcc -o test.exe test.cu

Done. As I said, to get this far you need to have supported version MSVS installed. The CUDA documentation enumerates supported MSVS versions.

To answer the stated question, there are “free” versions of Visual Studio 2015 (Community Edition) available which work with the current version of CUDA on Windows (the CUDA installer installs Nsight VSE which is a plugin for this IDE). This is explicitly stated in the CUDA windows install guide:

[url]Installation Guide Windows :: CUDA Toolkit Documentation