GRiD vCPU on RHEL - need advice/help

(Sorry for the re-post but I couldn’t find how to move or delete the original posting.)

Hi All,

We have the need to run two VMs (one with Windows 7, the second one with Fedora Linux 28) as KVM guests on RHEL 8 Workstation. Both VMs need accelerated graphics, i.e. OpenGL, although at very modest level.

When the VMs are used, a user is sitting in front of the workstation and interacting with both VMs directly, so the local RHEL 8 desktop needs some graphics as well.

My thought was to use a Nvidia card and virtualize it through GRID so that each VM sees a virtual Nvidia card it can use with regular Nvidia drivers. Having said that, I have no experience with the GRID software.

So my first question would be if this can be done, and if yes, what (entry-level) Nvidia craphics card I need. Would a Quadro card suffice, or do I need something like a Tesla? Do I need two cards or can I get away with one card (which will also be used for the RHEL 8 desktop)?

Thanks,

B.

Hi

Are the GPUs going to be located in a Rack Mount chassis or Tower chassis? …

If Rack Mount, then either a P4 or T4 would be sufficient. Rather than rewrite what NVIDIA have put together, here are links to each:

Details on the P4 are here: https://images.nvidia.com/content/pdf/tesla/184457-Tesla-P4-Datasheet-NV-Final-Letter-Web.pdf

Details on the T4 are here: https://www.nvidia.com/content/dam/en-zz/Solutions/Data-Center/tesla-t4/t4-tensor-core-datasheet-951643.pdf

Using the vGPU software, you can run both VMs on the same GPU at the same time. You will need to license each VM to use it.

If you are going to use a Tower chassis, then things become slightly more tricky due to cooling requirements. You can still use the P4 / T4, however as these are fan-less, you will(!) need to provide a lot of extra cooling, or you will over heat the GPU and damage it as they are not designed to work in a Tower chassis.