(Help) [GT 555M / Dell XPS L702X / Ubuntu 13.04] Step-by-step Bumblebee to NVidia proprietary

Hi, i’m currently using Bumbleblee on my Dell XPS L702X with Ubuntu 13.04 x64
I’m kinda new to Linux and i took time to make Bumblebee work on my GT555M because of Optimus.
I would like to know how to properly uninstall Bumblebee and all these things, and then install and setup the Nvidia proprietary drivers (Lastest is 325.15).

Also (and that may be related or not) i have noticied that after installing Ubuntu i’m experiencing some kind of “freez” (The screen goes full grey or any other color then sometimes turn black), that’s only happening when i try to run games (on Windows my GPU is at ~90°C after 1h of gaming and 70°C on idle), i also hear that the fans aren’t running as fast as on windows when i play.

(I can’t get temperatue info on Linux lm-sensors only shows the 8 processors charge and 2 virtual Temp)

Thanks for your help :)

nvidia-smi on Linux should display GPU temperature.

Changing fan speeds is going to be either a pain or impossible on Optimus w/ Bumblebee, you’d have to add the coolbits flag in your bumblebee xorg.conf, and even then I don’t remember if it actually populates correctly to be able to change the values via nvidia-settings. I haven’t tried the native workaround, so I’m not sure you’re able to change it that way either.

I’m assuming you’re looking to run the latest driver natively with xrandr 1.4 and dump Bumblebee – Look around this forum, there have been various threads of user’s experiences and how-to’s… but it might not be terribly straightforward.

I can’t run “nvidia-smi” as i have no proprietary drivers installed
I’m going to try to manually uninstall and set up the proprietary drivers.

Ok, so i Uninstalled every graphic card related package (Bumblebee-nvidia, nvidia-current and nvidia-104 from memory)
Then i installed the lastest drivers (325.15) by doing:

1. 'Ctrl + Alt + f2'
  2. Logging
  3. ' ``` service lightdm stop ``` '