How to access the data from an output buffer?

Hello,
I am new to optix and would not consider myself to be an expert in c programming nor in programming with cuda.
I am currently working on the tutorials from the optix sdk and would like to process my rendered (ray traced) data in OpenCV.
I have been trying to read the data out of the buffer that is returned by the function “getOutputBuffer()” to do some advanced processing with it, but all I am getting is the reference (adress) to where the buffer data is located.
Can you please tell me how to extract the raw buffer data?

Thanks for your help!

You would need to map the output or input_output buffer for reading, which gives you a host address to the data, read the data, and unmap.
Vice versa for input or input_output buffers: map for write, write, unmap.

Since buffers are the only way to output results in OptiX, that code sequence exists in almost all OptiX examples somewhere.

If you want to start learning OptiX, there is a recent set of “OptiX Introduction” tutorial examples I developed for my GTC 2018 talk. Please find links and more information in this sticky post:
[url]https://devtalk.nvidia.com/default/topic/998546/optix/optix-advanced-samples-on-github/[/url]

If you search for “map(” in this file, you will find both read and write buffer mapping cases.
[url]https://github.com/nvpro-samples/optix_advanced_samples/blob/master/src/optixIntroduction/optixIntro_07/src/Application.cpp[/url]

If you want to do CUDA-OptiX interop, there are API calls to set and get pointers to buffers explicitly. For more information on that please read the OptiX Programming Guide chapter 9:
[url]http://raytracing-docs.nvidia.com/optix/guide/index.html#cuda#9001[/url]
There are multiple topics discussing interop on this forum.

Thank you very much. That helped.

Could you also tell me how to unpack the mapped buffer without using OpenGL?

I would simply like to access the raw data to use it with OpenCV.