How to configure host chaining for ConnectX-5 VPI

Hello,

I have four nodes equipped with dual-port ConnectX-5 VPI adapter cards. If I understand the product brief correctly, these support a cluster setup in terms of a ring topology (aka “host chaining”). Unfortunately, I could not find any documentation on how to configure the cards and Subnet Manager (SM) instances to connect all nodes of the cluster without an intermediate switch.

Could you tell me if there is any documentation on that topic? Or do you have further information regarding this?

Cheers,

Simon

Hi Simon,

question: do you want to use Storage Spaces Direct in Windows Server 2016 with it? That is at least my problem.

Cheers Carsten Rachfahl

Microsoft Clud & Datacenter Managment MVP

You’re welcome!

I’m glad I helped someone after all the headache I went through for it.

I have no hard experience with VMWare, and so take all of this with a grain of salt.

First thought is vlan tags. I was told that VMWare tags by default.

From my (limited) understanding and thoughts, host chaining inside VMware is not a good idea.

If you setup a virtual switch (on the vmware side) and put both ports of the card on the switch, give that switch an IP, that would allow for vmotion and such over the link at close to line speed. Letting the switch (analogous to openvswitch) do all of the routing, and fast pathing.

Thoughts - If there was host chaining:

Vmware still sees both ports (we can’t assign IPs to raw port interfaces to start with.)

It doesn’t really know which port to send out, so it could take the extra hop before it gets to the destination.

Three node, desired going from A → B might take the path of A → C → B

Where I can talk is non-chaining speed.

We did try using openswitch and the cards with chaining off. So long as the stp stuff is turned on; we got nearly line speed.

We opened a support ticket for our problems with MTU. It took a while, but we found the problem.