Installing cp210x usb to uart driver on Jetson Nano

I am trying to connect rplidar A1 to Jetson Nano but Jetson cannot recognize it as usb device. I tried to install cp210x as explained in [url]https://www.jetsonhacks.com/2018/02/09/install-usb-serial-converter-kernel-modules-l4t-28-1/[/url] but it does not work - probably because the Module version (4.4.38-tegra) does not match the Kernel version (4.9.140-tegra)

What also confuses me is that I am on L4T R32.2 and the instructions at the link above say that starting with L4T 28.2 version CP210x driver will be a part of the stock kernel so there would be no need to use the jetsonhack solution above.

I am new to Jetsons and really appreciate if you could point me in the right direction.

P.S. I am on the most recent JetPack 4.2.1. with L4T R32.2

Any suggestions?

What do you see from:

zcat /proc/config.gz | grep CP210

If this says “=y” or “=m”, then you have support for that particular UART. The “=m” could still fail if the module is not being loaded.

What do you see from “uname -r”?

If this is “=m”, then your thought that the kernel version may be the issue is probably correct. Modules are searched for at “/lib/modules/$(uname -r)/”. If a different kernel is loaded, then the modules must also be installed for the new kernel. A module from a different “uname -r” may or may not work (depending on several issues), and it is always recommended that if you build a new kernel which has a new “uname -r” that you rebuild all modules from scratch. A module from 4.4.38-tegra is very likely to fail when used with 4.9.140-tegra.

What do you see from:

find /lib/modules/$(uname -r) -name '*cp210*'

sell this: /lib/modules/5.0.0-25-generic/kernel/drivers/usb/serial/cp210x.ko

The Ubuntu 18.04 host recognizes the cp210x chip and is connected with: $ dmesg --follow, and I set minicom to ‘ttyUSB0’, but when I run $ sudo minicom it comes out:
Welcome to minicom 2.7.1

OPTIONS: I18n
Compiled on Aug 13 2017, 15:25:34.