Jetson Nano Flash on USB Drive

Dear Nvidia jetson team.

I am interested to buy a Jetson nano product (not yet set on 4/2 gb one). Before buying the product though, I’v decided to dig a little bit on the installation part.

• Please correct me if I am wrong as I am a newbie on this flashing and booting stuffs.

→ The issue, I see that it only supports an easy integration through an SD card, which is, you know, slow, and provides more bottlenecks even more when you use it as a swap memory.

A [My though as the solution] Hence, I am trying to figure out a way to flash it on an Arcanite USB drive which has up to 10x read-write speed than the SD card one. Good thing is that NVIDIA does provide a way to flash it through a USB, however, I encounter several confusing things.

Regarding the A issue:

• I see that in the before you begin section, it mentioned some folders which I cannot find the content of. Could you pinpoint me on those folder contents?
  • For the Flashing to a USB Drive’s step 6, I am completely confused with the wording there. Do I need to plug an SD card in a combination with a USB drive, or do we just create this folder in the USB drive?
  • In case that things are not working as expected, could I revert back to do the installation with an SD card instead?

Thanks for your help, appreciate all the work you guys did,

BR,
Brilian

1 Like

Hi,

1. Actually, the real tool that can fully support jetson platform is sdkmanager. Which will download the driver package “Linux_for_Tegra” on your x86 host. Those contents are in this driver package.
    NVIDIA SDK Manager | NVIDIA Developer

Why I say “fully support” is because we only launch sdcard image on Nano and NX sdcard module. Other platforms need sdkmanager to flash. Even nano/nx “production module” require sdkmanager. We don’t provide sdcard image for that module.