[Jetson TK1] Power supply - DC or AC?

Hi there,

we’re planning to build up a small Jetson TK1 cluster (approx. 10-15 devices).
Therefor we want to use a common power supply for all devices.

On the Nvidia project page [1] they write that all kits have a “AC Adapter with power chord” included. Also the schematics of the Jetson [2] tell sth. about “AC Jack” (on p. 26). The community wiki on elinux says the opposite [3]. They say, a DC connector would be required.

We didn’t order the devices up to now, so I’m not able to find out what I really need.
I’m a computer scientist and no electrical engineer - but does the TK1 really need a 12VAC power supply? I can hardly believe…

Thanks in advance.

Cheers
Ralf

[1] https://developer.nvidia.com/jetson-tk1
[2] http://developer.download.nvidia.com/embedded/jetson/TK1/docs/602-7R375-0000-D00.Schematics.Rev.4.02.pdf
[3] Jetson/Jetson TK1 Power - eLinux.org

Jetson arrives with an adapter. Output is 12V DC regulated, input is AC. I think it says tolerance should be within 10%. The problem you will run into with a cluster is that you’ll need enough 120V AC outlets with surge protection! Or a well-regulated 12V DC supply (with enough current available for your cluster) and a lot of connectors.

See my post here for power supply suggestions.
[url]Jetson TK1 MPI Cluster - Jetson TK1 - NVIDIA Developer Forums

Ah ok, great, thanks. I was sure that AC power supply is nonsense, but official documents are a bit inaccurate… Just wanted to make things clear.

I’m planning in bigger dimensions :-D
I’m going to use a Meanwell power supply. Probably sth. like Meanwell SP-500-12 [1] 12V/40A [1].

Datasheets say that one Jetson might consume up to 48W under maximum load + SATA drive and all stuff connected and as I don’t know exactly which periphery i will run later, i do a worst case calculation.

[1] www.meanwell.com/search/SP-500/SP-500-spec.pdf

Cheers