Jetson TX2 + PTP capture synchronization

I’m new to the Jetson platform. I was looking through the tegra multimedia api sample code, I see the libargus syncSensor solution to synchronize the capture of 2 streams. This is interesting and am wondering if there is a way to synchronize just a single camera capture to a PTP clock (e.g. /dev/ptp0)? e.g. to schedule the capture of a frame at a specific microsecond in the near future based on this clock?

Hi randy,
Your case is a new case and looks different from syncSensor. Please give more detail about the usecase so that we can check if it can be supported.

Thank you kindly for the response DaneLLL,

Yeah, its not quite the same, but I am still hoping you could shed some light on it perhaps. The goal is take an image at a very precise time (ideally with < 5 usec of variance), for a very short duration image capture (200 usec exposure). Currently we use a physical trigger cable tied to POE cameras which requires physically tethering devices with a trigger cable. We want to avoid this tethering. Additionally most POE camera don’t offer many post-processing features on board. We’d rather use a Jetson TX2 with a camera over the MIPI/CSI-2 bus for advanced processing for better scalability.

We know ahead of time at exactly what time the event we wish to capture will need to occur (via a PTP timestamp). The idea is to synchronize the Jetson TX2 NIC clock using ptp4l. Hopefully the Jetson NIC supports the required Tx/Rx hardware time-stamping (still waiting for the dev kits to arrive).