Laptop crashes when connecting external monitors after botched driver installation

Machine specs: ThinkPad P53, i9-9880H, Quadro RTX 4000 Mobile (80W). On this machine, all external monitor connections are wired to the dGPU. Pop OS 20.10, running under hybrid graphics mode with Wayland.
You’ll have to forgive my ineptitude- this is hopefully the final step in my journey to switch to Linux as my host OS for the first time in many years. Although I’m not technically incompetent, this is my first time owning a dedicated graphics card, and the complex subtleties that go along with driving it on Linux are unfamiliar to me. I’ve uploaded my log file, and I can provide any other info needed.
While digging into a strange regression I encountered with 460.27.04 (hopefully more info on that soon), I decided that it might be a good idea to roll my driver back to the latest stable release (455.45.01) to check the difference. However, it would appear that I made a fatal mistake while doing so- I ran the 460.27.04 installer with the --uninstall flag, then rebooted before installing the 455.45.01 driver.
Doing so apparently has destroyed my Pop OS 20.10 install, as in any case I’ve tried since I did this a couple hours ago, connecting an external monitor to the device instantly causes it to freeze.
At first, it seemed that this was because the Nouveau driver was loaded in place of the proprietary drivers, so I set up the basic configuration necessary to stop the driver from taking over (modprobe configuration files, kernel blacklist) and after a couple reboots, between some tinkering and reinstalling the official drivers, I found that the nouveau drivers were unloaded and the official Nvidia drivers were loaded, but the freeze still occurred when an external monitor was connected.