Linux xorg.conf Help

Preface this message by admitting I’m relatively new to Linux, and I’m not a programmer. I know just enough from watching online tutorials and reading FAQ’s to be dangerous.

I have two GeForce GTX 1080 cards in SLI, and I’m using Linux Mint 21.1 Cinnamon. I’ve been doing quite a bit of research on how to enable SLI in the NVIDIA Settings in Linux, and I know I have to go into the xorg.conf file and add this line (Option “SLI” “mosaic”), but I’m not sure what section it is to be added to - the “Device” (video card) section, as one tutorial showed it going in the “Screen” section.

My xorg.conf file also only has one Section “Device” (video card) listing showing Device0 (GPU 0), and I would expect to see another listing of Device1 (GPU 1).

On the right side of the screen in the NVIDIA Settings panel when highlighting “X Screen 0” in the left column, it only shows one GPU - GPU 0. On the left column listings it does show both GPU 0 and GPU 1, but only GPU 0 has overclocking available to be adjusted. GPU 1 doesn’t even show the options.

I did add in the Section “Device” (GPU0) section of code (Option “Coolbits” “12”) which enables overclocking, but I’m wondering if there needs to be another Section “Device” for GPU1 to be added with (Option “Coolbits” “12”) to enable overclocking on the second video card as well.

After enabling SLI in the xorg.conf file, I ran the Heaven benchmark and NVIDIA Settings showed 100% utilization for GPU0, and 0% for GPU1. That is why I’m wondering if there needs to be a section of code added in for the second video card, both for overclocking and for SLI to actually be enabled.

Anybody have any ideas or experience with this? Thank you in advance.

# nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
# nvidia-xconfig:  version 525.105.17

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"