-lpgnod_prof_g not found

Hi,
I’m new to nvidia HPC compilers. My goal is starting to move to GPU (we have just acquired à A100GPU). I try first to profile a fortran HPC code with the -pg option of pgfortran but I can’t build the binary. I get
/usr/bin/ld: cannot find -lpgnod_prof_g
and they are no libpgnod_prof_g* file under /opt/nvidia
Installed from rpm in CentOS8, 20.9 or 21.2 versions.
Any help welcome.

Hi Patrick,

Sorry about that. Gprof profiling was disabled for a bit after we disabled the old pgprof profiling. It should be available again in an upcoming release.

In the meantime, you can try using Nsight-Systems (nsys profile -b dwarf <a.out>). The CPU profile can be viewed by opening the generated profile in the GUI and selecting the CPU view (top-down, bottom-up, flat) in the “Events” tab. Note that it’s helpful to compile your code with “-g” or “-gopt” to have the Dwarf symbols available to the profiler.

-Mat

Hi Mat,

thanks for your answer. Indeed I have a workshop this week and a GPU Hackathon with… nvidia support! I was trying to be ready before starting this morning…
I’ve used nsys but it do not seams to be very stable… With my parallel code it ends with a memory error in the provided openMPI libs (fails on 32, 16, 8 and 4 processes). It runs on 2 processes buts seams to be stuck after my mpi_finalize call…
The code alone runs what ever the number of cores.

[tenibre-gpu-0:432348] Signal: Bus error (7)
[tenibre-gpu-0:432348] Signal code: Non-existant physical address (2)
[tenibre-gpu-0:432348] Failing at address: 0x7fe1c4b2c280
[tenibre-gpu-0:432348] [ 0] /opt/nvidia/hpc_sdk/Linux_x86_64/ 20.9 /comm_libs/openmpi/openmpi-3.1.5/lib/libopen-pal.so.40(+0x9cc3a)[0x7fe1ea2ebc3a]

Patrick

Sorry, I’m not sure what’s going on here. Nsight-systems does have issues when the profile gets very large. You might need to increase the sampling period or run fewer time steps.

From “nsys profile --help”:

--sampling-period=