netstat: no support for `AF INET (igmp)' on this system.

Hi I’ve been having issues with igmp snooping on my managed switch. After some looking about I believe have found the issue that igmp/multicast is not supported or setup on my system. using

zgrep MULTICAST /proc/config.gz

i get the output

# CONFIG_IP_MULTICAST is not set

I am still new to linux and the TX2 so I am unsure of how to proceed from here. Any suggestions on how to activate multicast/igmp on my TX2 ?

CONFIG_IP_MULTICAST is a kernel feature. When you compile a kernel such features can be integrated within the kernel (grep would show “=y” for yes), or as a module (grep would show “=m” for module). Not all features can be made as a module, but if they can, then you only need to build the module. Many features are drivers, though not all features are drivers.

So the first thing you have to realize is that whatever you compile or build either the kernel Image file must be copied to the Jetson, or else a module file (some “name.ko”). If you changed a feature with “=y” you need to copy the Image. If you changed a feature with “=m”, then you need to copy the module. Other details are important, but that’s the basics.

First thing you need to do is understand how to build a kernel…it isn’t actually too bad if you follow some guides like this:
[url]http://www.jetsonhacks.com/2017/03/25/build-kernel-and-modules-nvidia-jetson-tx2/[/url]

The step which you will need to pay attention to is that you start with a config matching the config.gz, and then use a tool such as “make nconfig” or “make menuconfig” to find the feature listed for CONFIG_IP_MULTICAST and enable it. If possible, just use a module format so the Image file doesn’t need copy.

Caution 1: Don’t overwrite an existing Image or file, just rename it slightly different and edit “/boot/extlinux/extlinux.conf” to point at the new Image if a full image is created; or copy the module into the correct location of “/lib/modules/$(uname -r)/kernel/”.