Newbie makefile question

Hi all,

I’m retooling a program for CUDA but just discovered that I have no experience with makefiles which is less than I need. So my problem is that ‘make all’ does not recognize .cu files. I’ve set the default compiler to nvcc but it’s still not reading files appropriately (make[1]: *** No rule to make target file.o', needed by compile’. Stop.). That error happens when I change a file that I was going to leave as .C to .cu – it compiles fine before. So lets assume the file structure is src/extras, with file.o being in extras. There’s a makefile in src and another in extras, created by ./configure from Makefile.in templates. Here are what I think are the relevant parts of each:

/src/Makefile

#object files

EXTRAS_OBJ = extras/file.o \

#macro definitions

BIN = ${EXEDIR}folder

EXEDIR = ../bin/

SRC = $(ALL_OBJ:.o=.c)

#implicit rules

.c.o:

${CC} ${CFLAGS} -c $<

#targets

all:	compile

.PHONY: compile

compile: ${BIN}

${BIN}: ${ALL_OBJ}

${LDR} $(OPT) -o ${EXEDIR}folder ${ALL_OBJ} ${LIB}

/src/extras/Makefile

#object files

CORE_OBJ = extras.o \

OBJ = $(CORE_OBJ)

#macro definitions

SRC = $(OBJ:.o=.c)

#implicit rules

.c.o:

${CC} ${CFLAGS} -c $<

#targets

all:	compile

.PHONY: compile

compile: ${OBJ}

I’ve tried adding

%.cu.o: %.cu

$(NVCC) $(NVCCFLAGS) -c $< -o

To implicit rules in both files (with and without the percent signs)

and

SRC = $(OBJ:.o=.cu)

to macro definitions. All that I can change is that when I add the .cu implicit rule to both files (with or without percent signs) the error changes to ‘Makefile:36: *** missing separator. Stop.’ where line 36 is $(NVCC) $(NVCCFLAGS) -c $< -o in src/extras/Makefile.

I’m not sure where to go with this; any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

S

That’s the right approach. The trick is that the second line needs to start with a tab, no spaces.