Nsight-system failed to start profiling

Hi! I am new to Nsight-System and I tried to run some sample commands to understand how it works.
The first thing I did was running on Windows and using SSH to connect the linux server remotely. This part was successful and connected to the server.
Then I tried several commands like: ls, cd ./xxx, top, ll, etc.
But only ls command works and all the rest gave similar error log like below

I tried to restart and redo the previous steps but nothing has changed. Could you give me any suggestion?

The local device setting is:
Windows 10
Nsight-system 2021.2.1

The server setting:
Tesla V100
Linux-18.04
CUDA-11.0
Driver Version-450.51.06

Hi, let’s make sure I understand what you were doing.

You launched the GUI on Windows, and from the GUI told it you wanted to run a profile on your linux box? And then you told it the application you wanted to launch was a standard Linux tool like top?

(this is a windows screenshot) Like this?

The error that you are getting is that the application you are running actually ended before the tool could find any profiling data

Hi! thanks for your reply!
Most of the part was correct , My GUI on Windows was like below,
(Windows screenshot)

I wonder if it is the case that “the application running actually ended before the tool could find any profiling data”, would there ba any other commands that I can try to make the tool find any profiling data? Or should I actually run a training program or maybe a small demo can do?

Do you have root or paranoid set on the system as needed? See Installation Guide :: Nsight Systems Documentation

You could also grab the samples from the CUDA toolkit and try them, turning on CUDA trace.

Thank you very much for your reply! Yes that is the problem!
After I changed the paranoid value from 1 to 2. All other commands have worked!