Nvidia Login loop on Ubuntu

I’m on a mid 2014 MacBook Pro with nVidia GeForce GT 750M
GPU with 2GB of dedicated GDDR5

Running Ubuntu 18.04 on an external Hard Drive

After installing CUDA 10.02 (maybe it wasn’t compatible?)

This is exactly how I installed, got no issues till the reboot.

On reboot I got a login loop and I know there are many topics here on that but I can’t follow them because I can’t get into a command prompt of any kind.

I’ve tried a few commands like Ctrl+Alt+F1, nothing happens. When I do ‘Ctrl+Alt+Fn+F3’ I get a blank screen and I can’t seem to get out of it using Ctrl+Alt+Fn+F7
Not sure how I could get any logs of what’s going on.

PS. I’m new to Ubuntu/Linux

this is known bug. Remove splash option from grub menu and see if it is help

Okay, how exactly do I do that? (If another posts explains it well feel free to link me)

Do you have grub menu counting 10 sec usually in a beginning of boot? If no you have to press shift to get into grub menu. Then choose very first line and press “e”. Find word “splash” and delete it. Them press F10 to boot into OS

Okay thank you very much I will let you know how it goes shortly

This is the screen I eventually came to right before deleting ‘splash’ my cursor/underscore is on it in the picture

I had to press shift space and then esc quickly. If I pressed just esc it takes me to a terminal-like grub menu. (Which is good to know)

I tried it twice but no luck. Same login loop

Well… You have to disable autologin then. Check on your keyboard what keys are framed with white or blue color. Same as “fn” key. If F1. F2. etc are framed then you have to use Fn key but if they are not then just press ctrl+alt+F2 to go to TTY 2 login. And from there disable autologin. I don’t remember right now how to do it, but google with help you indefinitely. :)