OPTIX For Laser Ray Tracing: How To Get Incident Points Coordinates In Each Hit

Dear Forum,

I’m new to Optix and Cuda. In my computation, I’m using SPH methods and do not need rendering and triangularization. My scene is only made by group of points with known coordinates and radius and the initial positions of rays and their directions. The reflection normal is not the geometric sphere normal but defined by the neighbor particle positions and the coordinate of incident points. Therefore before each reflection I need to get the incident point coordinate to calculate the reflection normal at each hitting. Is there any OptiX method that can return the positions of Incident points of each hit but without doing the whole tracing? Or How can i design the pipeline of calling OptiX APIs?
Thanks very much!

My scene is only made by group of points with known coordinates and radius and the initial positions of rays and their directions.

I’m assuming SPH stands for Smoothed-Particle Hydrodynamics.

No, OptiX does not provide any method to calculate that specific reflection normal.
OptiX is a general purpose GPU ray casting SDK and you’re responsible for implementing the desired algorithms.

OptiX would only provide some initial ray-primitive intersection result which requires some geometric primitive to intersect with.
Like if you represent the “point coordinates with radius” as sphere primitives and intersect rays with them, that would provide some initial hit point.

Determining the reflection normal from incident points (I assume you mean the particle the ray hit?) and its neighbors would require some neighbor search algorithm you would need to implement yourself.

That would most likely require some spatial lookup structure over your particles to find the neighbors quickly.
Things like a kD-tree or spatial hash maps for a kNN search algorithm as used in photon mapping final gather passes come to mind.

Thanks for your suggestion.