Physics base equation/strange friction behaviour

Hello, I’m an Italian Phd student from University of Trieste. I’m using unity for research purpose and I need therefore some technical information about the physics engine used in Unity i.e. Physics.
The manual of physics does not contain all the physical models implemented nor the approximation methods used, is there a way to find some more documentation?I need this kind of info also to justify some strange behavior in experiments I performed:

• When “cone-friction” option is set the object stops a lot before it should according to physical laws ( for instance in an experiment where an a cube is placed on a floor with friction and the cube starts with a given speed , the cube stops a time that is half the time it should be). Everything seems work fine when “cone-friction” is unchecked.
  • When “cone-friction” is unchecked the objects stops correctely but if static friction is not really high (ten times dynamic) the object starts going back as if a force is applied in the opposite direction.
    I can deal with does problems if they are due to numerical issue, anyway I’d rather know the precise cause.
    Thanks a lot for the help.
    Gabriele

Hi Gabriele,
Which version of Unity are you using? Unless you are using the absolute latest pre-release of Unity 5, you should be dealing with PhysX-2.8.x.