PhysX for research

Hello! I am new to PhysX. I am hoping to use PhysX for some research work. Is it easy to simulate bodies of combined materials in PhysX (joining meshes of different properties for soft body)? Also, can I simulate moving bodies without rendering them and get information on coordinates (want to quickly compute distance travelled for example)?

As far as PhysX 3.3.4 is concerned…

I don’t think there is support for softbodies. You can construct a system of bodies attached by soft joints to sort of emulate a soft body. That’s not exactly the same as a soft body as the individual parts are still rigid bodies. However I’m not sure how other physics engines which do claim to support soft bodies do it so for all I know the standard soft body solution is just a network of rigid bodies.

You can create a rigid body comprised of multiple rigidly attached shapes with each shape having different material properties like friction and restitution.

PhysX is a physics engine, not a renderer. You can absolutely simulate without rendering though I suspect you would regret not having an option to perform some sort of primitive rendering as it’s a very convenient way of diagnosing problems in your setup or unexpected outcomes of your simulation.

Depending on what exactly your research involves PhysX may not be a great choice. It’s not really a physically accurate simulation for scientific purposes. It does a pretty reasonable job of satisfying laws of dynamics but it’s not a guarantee made by the engine. If your research is in dynamics, mechanical engineering, materials science or something like that you may need a more specialized tool.