Problems with include paths

Hi All,

I’m new to CUDA. I’m trying to compile one of the sample projects of NVIDIA.
But I get “error: cutil.h: No such file or directory” although I have copied NVIDIA_CUDA_SDK/common/inc on my PATH. Am I missing anything else here?

Thanks Much.

You need to specify include paths with the flag -I

nvcc -O3 file.cu -I/usr/local/NVIDIA_CUDA_SDK/common/inc -L/usr/local/NVIDIA_CUDA_SDK/lib -lcutil -lglut

Thanks for the reply. I think the lib path is NVIDIA_CUDA_SDK/common/lib because my NVIDIA_CUDA_SDK/lib is empty. But, now my problem is I get the following error:

“/usr/bin/ld: cannot find -lcutil”.

Thanks Much.

You need to build the cutil library.
Type make from inside NVIDIA_CUDA_SDK.

Seems it is looking for GL/l.h and GL/glu.h but can’t find it.
Everything is set on my PATH and I also included the GL path on the -I option of make.

Thanks Much.

Do you have libGLU installed per the release notes? If so, what is the exact error you’re getting?

1. Reinstall the SDK.
  2. Type make in the directory you used for the installation.

The only thing you need to add to PATH is /usr/local/cuda/bin (to locate nvcc) and /usr/local/cuda/lib to you LD_LIBRARY_PATH (to locate the runtime and blas, fft libraries).

I did reinstall the SDK, still getting errors. This is the exact error I’m getting:

make[1]: Entering directory /root/NVIDIA_CUDA_SDK/common' src/error_checker.cpp:50:19: error: GL/gl.h: No such file or directory src/error_checker.cpp:51:20: error: GL/glu.h: No such file or directory src/error_checker.cpp: In static member function 'static void ErrorChecker::checkErrorGL(const char*, int)': src/error_checker.cpp:63: error: 'GLenum' was not declared in this scope src/error_checker.cpp:63: error: expected ;’ before ‘gl_error’
src/error_checker.cpp:64: error: ‘gl_error’ was not declared in this scope
src/error_checker.cpp:64: error: ‘GL_NO_ERROR’ was not declared in this scope