Running OpenSceneGraph / OpenGL previews on NVIDIA GTX 1070 with Max-Q Design - GPU memory leak

Hello everyone,

Thank you for your time and attention!

I am a software developer working on a software which includes multiple, built-in, real-time OpenSceneGraph / OpenGL previews. One of our customers reported severe problems when using our software on the following system:

• ASUSTeK GX501VSK Notebook
  • Intel Core i7-7700HQ CPU @ 2.80GHz (8 CPUs), ~2.8GHz
  • NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 with Max-Q Design
  • 16 GB RAM
  • Windows 10 Pro 64 bit
  • NVIDIA driver: 390.77
  • Monitor resolution: 1920 x 1080 @ 120 Hz, 120 DPI
  • Color depth: 32 bit

Besides this system, the costumer has a similar notebook with an NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 which shows the same problematical behavior (please see details below). At the moment, any other computer does not seem to be affected, neither of our customers nor in our company.

Question 1: Are there any differences affecting application programming between the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 with Max-Q Design and former NVIDIA GeForce cards / NVIDIA cards without special optimizations?

According to the costumer’s report and further tests I did via TeamViewer on his computer, the symptoms of the problem are the following:

• When running our software with previews enabled, the Dedicated GPU Memory (according to the Windows Task Manager) continuously increases up to 100 %, i.e. 8 GB.
  • Our software behaves unexpectedly or crashes at usually uncritical operations, even before the memory usage reaches the maximum value.
  • In some tests, OpenSceneGraph signalled the warning "detected OpenGL error 'out of memory' at after RenderBin::draw(..)".
  • The growth rate of the memory usage in the default use case of our software is around 0.1 GB per two or three seconds.
  • The increasing is slower, when less previews are enabled or the monitor refresh rate is reduced, but the memory still runs full.