UART Jetson AGX XAVIER Developer kit

Hi, before at all, im a developer begginer and also i dont speak or write english so well.

Yesterday, a friend came to me and asked me if i could help him with this Jetson AGX XAVIER Developer kit. But i dont know how to communicate using the UART. I found a web page where is a example whit the Jetson NANO, but it doesnt work to me, i’ll leave the code below.

Jetson Nano - UART - JetsonHacks THIS IS THE WEB PAGE WHERE I SAW THE EXAMPLE

GitHub - JetsonHacksNano/UARTDemo: UART Demo Code AND THIS IS THE CODE

PS: Thanks in advance

I don’t know what failed for you, but perhaps some general UART information will help. This isn’t in any specific order.

The default UART requires a 3.3V logic level. There are many UART ports out there which use different levels, e.g., 1.8V or 5V. The RS-232 uses a wide range of values. A 1.8V device would not likely damage the Nano, but higher voltanges than 3.3V might. So be careful that the UART you connect to this is also rated at 3.3V.

Serial UARTs just convert bytes into a series of bits over time. One side sends bits, the other side reassembles the bits as bytes.

UARTs also typically support multiple forms of flow control. Software flow control does not require any extra wiring beyond the TX and RX and ground wires. CTS/RTS flow control has a Clear To Send wire and a Request To Send wire, and these work together if and only if the UARTs were set to use this. You could wire the physical connections and not worry since any UART told to not use CTS/RTS flow control would ignore those wires, and in cases where this hardware flow control is used, then the wires would be used.

Each UART has only a very limited buffer space. This is one why flow control is important (software or hardware). If you were to keep sending before the other end can use the data, then data is lost.

Each UART can be told to use a different number of bits for the byte size. The default is 8-bits for 1-byte.