Using GstBuffer to transport data?

Hi,
I have a project in which I have to stream a usb camera from Jetson Nano to another computer.
The thing is that i need to compress the video and encapsulate it in a custom transfer protocol so i can’t use rtsp or other communication protocol.
From what I have seen so far ( i’m a newbie) ,doing a GStreamer application could be a good way to do it.

What i would like is to get the compressed video directly after the encoder in order to process it with my own protocol.
Is it possible to do that with GstBuffer (gst_buffer_extract() looks good)" ? If yes, would these buffer be accepted as source for my decoder program?

Thank you in advance!

Hi,
You can get the compressed stream in appsink. Please refer to this sample:
Latency issue: nvv4l2h265enc accumulates four images before releasing the first - #3 by DaneLLL

Since you don’t need existing sink plugins in gstreamer, you can consider to use jetson_multiemdia_api. May refer to 12_camera_v4l2_cuda sample for capturing video frames through v4l2 into NvBuffer. And can apply this patch for encoding into h264 stream:
TX2 Camera convert/encode using Multimedia API issue - #17 by DaneLLL

Hi,
Thanks for your fast reply !
I went with the 12_camera_v4l2_cuda sample and apllied the patch but i’m struggling to find what buffer contains the encoded stream and when it is filled.
Could you give me a hint on that ? :)

Hi,
Once encoded data is generated, enc_capture_dqbuf_thread_callback() is called. You can refer to write_encoder_output_frame() in 01_video_encoder for saving the stream data.

Ok thanks i got it.
Just on more question, i don’t see what is the difference between "v4l2_buffer * v4l2_buf " and “NvBuffer * buffer” from enc_capture_dqbuf_thread_callback().
I saw they had the same value in bytesused, do they both contain the encoded data?

Hi,