volume rendering of scientific data

I have a stack of binary images. I combined them into a 3D array in MATLAB and used the isosurface/isocaps and patch commands to extract the isosurface and visualize it . . but its too slow. I want to do the same with CUDA. I am new to CUDA. I saw a project ‘volume render’ in the CUDA SDK. It reads a raw file ‘Bucky’ and renders. I want to know how can I stack up my images into a 3D volume, extract the isosurfaces and render it . . could the ‘volume render’ sample be modified to achieve this ? should I convert my images into raw format and do something . . please help

Not sure about the first phase, but according to what you say, sounds easy.

As for iso-surface extraction, check out the sdk-sample called “marching cubes” - it can be used to extract isosurface of a given scalar function or data-set.

I saw the marching cubes example in the cuda sdk. It is using a raw file “Bucky.raw” as input. I tried combining all my images into a single raw file but the results are not as expected. I have a sequence of binary images which I want to combine in a volume data so that I can use it with this example . . please help

Check out www.accelereyes.com

They have a CUDA toolkit for MATLAB. That MIGHT help. I have no idea if that would solve your problem. But u may want to check it out.

It seems they have two ways of using the code:

1. using Bucky.raw

2. using an inline function

I’m unsure what your storage format is, as binary images could basically represent anything…

So is it some kind of point-cloud or do the binary values combine into a scalar field in 3d, or…?

I could also imagine that the data would be binary and you would want to “connect the dots” to make the iso-surface, so that would be an isosurface with iso-value 1 in space of ones and zeros?