Xavier AGX RTSP MJPEG Stream and Decode

Hi,

My total use case is that I am trying to create a 24/7 rtsp stream via MJPEG from Xavier AGX to a server. Ideally, I would like to launch and receive via python applications and opencv.

I have Opencv4.6, Cuda11.4, Jetpack 5.2, Jetson Xavier dev kit and 4 AGX production boards.

I am relatively new to Gstreamer so a lot of the issues probably come from inexperience. So, bear with me and any help is greatly appreciated.

Some caveats before I get started. To open my camera, I can use the command;

gst-launch-1.0 -v v4l2src device=/dev/video0 ! image/jpeg, width=640, height=480, framerate=30/1, format=MJPG ! jpegdec ! xvimagesink

The framerate looks great, everything is good. My camera is a USB camera at /dev/video0.

I can create an RTSP stream with;

./test-launch "v4l2src device=/dev/video0 use-damage=0 ! nvvidconv ! nvv4l2h265enc ! h265parse ! video/x-h265, stream-format=byte-stream ! rtph265pay name=pay0 pt=96 "

I can also view it on the same device via;

gst-launch-1.0 -v rtspsrc location=rtsp://127.0.0.1:8554/test ! application/x-rtp, media=video, encoding-name=H265 ! rtph265depay ! nvv4l2decoder ! nvvidconv ! xvimagesink

Video is there but the framerate is a little slow, so I am hoping to do MJPEG for compression.

I can run this python script;

import gi

gi.require_version(“Gst”,“1.0”)

gi.require_version(“GstVideo”,“1.0”)

gi.require_version(“GstRtspServer”,“1.0”)

from gi.repository import GLib, Gst, GstVideo, GstRtspServer

Gst.init(None)

mainloop = GLib.MainLoop()

server = GstRtspServer.RTSPServer()

mounts = server.get_mount_points()

factory = GstRtspServer.RTSPMediaFactory()

factory.set_launch(‘(videotestsrc is-live=1 ! video/x-raw, width=320, height=240, framerate=30/1 ! nvvidconv ! nvv4l2h264enc insert-sps-pps=1 idrinterval=30 insert-vui=1 ! rtph264pay name=pay0 pt=96)’)

mounts.add_factory(“/test”, factory)

server.attach(None)

print(“stream ready at rtsp://127.0.0.1:8554/test”)

mainloop.run()