[Acer Nitro 5] Linux 20.04.03 Nvidia 1050Ti 470.74 stuck in black screen with terminal cursor (underscore) after waking up from being suspended

Hi, I have tried various solutions to fix this problem, but no luck.

I decided to switch from Windows 10 to Ubuntu, and noticed if I try to suspend the device (put to sleep), waking up makes the system become unresponsive, with black screen and blinking underscore on top left.

Tried multiple driver versions, nothing solves my issue. In other cases, GPU seems to work fine.

Please help, I’m new to Linux and seem to be pretty lost already.nvidia-bug-report.log.gz (323.2 KB)

EDIT: Trying to understand the problem, basically what happens is:

1. I suspend the device

2. Try to wake up again

3. See black screen with blinking underscore (console cursor)

4. After a while, this error message comes up

5. Nothing else, have to REISUB

During 3-5 steps can’t do anything much to escape this. Try to Ctrl+Alt F1-F7, system completely freezes (underscore stops blinking)

EDIT2: Removed “quiet splash” from GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT=, another error message popped-up: Imgur: The magic of the Internet

EDIT3: Completely uninstalling nvidia drivers using these instructions (unity - How can I uninstall a nvidia driver completely ? - Ask Ubuntu) allow me to suspend safely, without getting stuck in a black screen. Leaving me only with Intel Graphics. But it’s not an ideal solution because I still need my NVidia GPU for gaming.

For a test, please install the 390 legacy driver using Software&Updates application and check if the same occurs with it.

Please also check if this applies:
https://forums.developer.nvidia.com/t/kernel-5-6-system-freeze-when-resuming-from-suspend-or-hibernate/121630/22?u=generix
NB: you need to run
sudo update-initramfs -u
after adding the udev rule.