Automotive platform

Hi,

I am currently a consultant Systems Engineer for an automotive OEM, working with Linux.

I would like to develop an IVI system, initially as a Research project for my own company, but with the possibility of developing to a stage where I can sell the solution to potential niche clients.

I would like to develop the system in Linux, preferably Android.

Which product of yours would you recommend to start?

Many thanks,

Jason

Depends on use case, especially anything GPU related and I/O requirements. Consider posting example video and multimedia requirements (or direct CUDA requirements). Also, give an idea of camera and display requirements.

Thanks for the reply.

Minimum requirements are for a double-DIN, touchscreen (e.g. https://lilliputdirect.com/lilliput-open-frame-industrial-monitors/automotive-monitors/Bybyte-669-C-T-double-din-touchscreen-monitor), inputs for:
camera (either dash-cam, reversing cam or both)
microphone
bluetooth
network (wifi and ethernet)
GPS (over USB if necessary)
AMFM/DAB (over USB if necessary)
media (SD/USB)

Ideally, rendering of a 4K video should be smooth while a route is being navigated, but I can live with some performance issues if a nav route is being calculated as this is a transient peak load. Obviously I would prefer no disruption to the video at all, and I realise this could be managed with priorities.

Cost is not a big issue for the development platform - I would rather have all bells and whistles to start with and cut back on what I don’t really need as I get closer to the intended solution.

Thanks again.

“This is of course my own option opinion”.