Bring-up - Keyboard/Mouse not responding

Hi all,

We’ve managed to first-boot the system, and got the Ubuntu login screen.

However, I can’t go on, as the mouse and keyboard are not functioning properly.
They were connected to USB3A headers, which are connected to SOM USB0 and USB2.

See attached figure for our system configuration.

Any idea on debug will help.

Sorry, what is USB0 and USB2? What uphy is it?

Hi,
Sorry but somehow my answer was not saved - only the figure that I’ve sent.

I’ve attached a figure showing the USB0-3 and the UPHY pins.

Can I get explanation on enabling of the USB ports - are they all enabled? as Host? as Device?

Thanks,

Ok, I got it.

USB0, USB2 are pure 2.0 ports while USB1 and USB3 are mixed with 3.0 ports.

Have you read the xavier adaptation guide on our download center?

Hi,

I haven’t read the Xavier adaptation guide.

I’m a hardware designer, doing contract design, and was informed that there’s no need to do any s/w change, as long as we’ll follow the reference design.

I’m aware that if I’ll want to connect USB 3.0 device, I’ll have to do some s/w changes,
but assumed that I’ll be able to connect USB 2.0 devices (mouse/keyboard) to any of the ports - and they should work.

As it seems - all the USB ports are disabled or not enumerated.

I’m trying to debug in both directions - h/w and s/w.
For the s/w, I’ve asked my customer to assign a s/w designer to look at the Xavier adaptation guide.
For the h/w I assume that I should try connecting a terminal set 115Kbaud, 8bit, no parity, to UART3_RX_DEBUG(K60) / UART3_RX_DEBUG (H62).
Will I be able to see a log of enabling/disabling the USB ports?

Is there a document for h/w designers - I would recommend such a one, informing on shorting ‘Carrier-pwr-on’ in first power-debug - for bypassing the carrier, and also to use the DEBUG UART - and maybe other tips.