CUDA and AUDIO ACCELERATION Is this possible? Can it be done?

I am extremely new to any development around CUDA. I pretty much understand its capabilities and cant imagine it not being implemented in the audio workstation (DAW) sector.

Just for a start and general purpose to get things rolling:

:whistling: I would like to know if it is possible to accelerate FL Studio or any digital audio program that utilizes VST’s, VSTi’s and DXi’s. Do you think there is a way to accelerate the “generator processing” of the .dll files associated with the plugins?

:geek: For instance - There are plenty of accelerator cards out there, like pro tools, that greatly enhance usability of specific plugins associated with that specific hardware. There are actually alot of accelerator cards as well that do this. They all seem to be proprietary. WHY!?

:no: I cannot simply imagine CUDA not being able to handle the processing of these plugins! It’s all math!

:w00t: What I CAN imagine is CUDA DRAMATICALLY enhancing the processing of these plugins.

(!) Has anyone heard anything about development of this kind of acceleration?

(!) If so, who, what, where and why!?

(!) You guys are the best!

Thanks for your enthusiasm. Audio processing is certainly possible in CUDA, but it requires software developers to write specific CUDA versions of their software.

So far this is the only VST plug-in I know of that supports CUDA:
http://www.acusticaudio.net/modules.php?na…ts&file=nebula3

Thanks for taking the time to respond. I have downloaded the free version already of Nebula 3 which unfortunately doesn’t support CUDA. Only the pay version does.