CUDA driver version is insufficient for CUDA runtime version inside docker on Jetson TX2

Hello everyone,

I have some difficulties running a Cuda application inside a docker container on my Jetson TX2. The error message is CUDA Error: CUDA driver version is insufficient for CUDA runtime version The Cuda version is 10.2 but I have no idea where I can find the driver version.

I think there is something simple I don’t understand but I can’t figure out what… ! I am a total beginner on Jetson on Cuda so I must be missing something.

Thank you !

If you cd to “/usr/local”, and run “ls -d cuda*”, then one of them will show a version. That is your current version.

The CUDA version has a strong dependency to the installed L4T which is currently flashed. If you need a different version, then you need to flash. However, keep in mind that nvcc can compile for different compute architectures, e.g., “-gencode arch=” can support different GPUs. Make sure it is really the CUDA version you need to change, and not just a recompile for that GPU.

Here are links to a list of L4T releases (which is what JetPack/SDKM flashes):
https://developer.nvidia.com/embedded/linux-tegra-archive
(you’ll need to go there, log in, and then go there a second time)

Here are links to JetPack releases:
https://developer.nvidia.com/embedded/jetpack-archive

When you drill down to any particular release in that list it will mention which CUDA version it supports. If you simply recompiling for your GPU is not sufficient, then you will need to flash with the JetPack/SDKM release having the proper CUDA version.

Thank you for your answer
I checked my Jetson l4t and cuda versions and they are older than my docker’s one. I am going to downgrade my docker l4t version and see if I still have the same error

running my docker with runtime=nvidia causes the error :