Cuda error (VS2005, CUDA 2.0)

Ok, CUDA was working fine for the last few weeks, then yesterday I started to get LNK1181 errors, by which the compiler does not create the object file of the cuda file, ‘sample.cu’, however it does create the object files for the other C++ files i have in the project.

I cannot upgrade to CUDA 2.1 and VS 2008 as my graphics card cannot run the new Beta 180.60 drivers.

It is strange as it shows below it does create the .obj file, but then cannot find it later on in the build process (I’m not that good at understanding the whole build/link process!) External Image

Thanks for your help in advance! Remember I have had CUDA working before, so its not a platform issue. I’ve tried re-installing the SDK, toolkit and VS2005, but it doesn’t help!

EDIT: If I clean the project and compile one of the C++ files separately, it creates the object file. However, it does not create the object file for the cuda file! It DOES however create the object file if I build the project in EmuDebug mode. I am using the Release mode at the moment.

Here is my build log:

Build Log

Rebuild started: Project: Thom, Configuration: Release|Win32

Command Lines

Creating temporary file “c:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\NVIDIA CUDA SDK\projects\Thom\Thom\Release\BAT00006D42364224.bat” with contents
[
@echo off

nvcc.exe -ccbin “C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio 8\VC\bin” -c -D_CONSOLE -Xcompiler “/EHsc /W3 /nologo /Wp64 /O2 /Zi /MT " -I"C:\CUDA\include” -I"C:\ProgramData\NVIDIA Corporation\NVIDIA CUDA SDK\common\inc" -o Release\sample.obj sample.cu

if errorlevel 1 goto VCReportError

goto VCEnd

:VCReportError

echo Project : error PRJ0019: A tool returned an error code from “Compiling…”

exit 1

:VCEnd
]
Creating command line “”“c:\Program Files\NVIDIA Corporation\NVIDIA CUDA SDK\projects\Thom\Thom\Release\BAT00006D42364224.bat”“”