CUDA install unmet dependencies: cuda : Depends: cuda-10-0 (>= 10.0.130) but it is not going to be installed

Hi,
New GPU server Dell Poweredge R740xd with Ubunut 18.04 and NVIDIA Tesla V100 32G Passive GPU.

I am very new at CUDA install so please forgive my lack of knowledge and thank you in advance for any support and help you can provide.

I tried to install CUDA following instructions at

I downlaoded the CUDA toolkit 10.0 from

I choose:
Linux
x86_64
Ubuntu 18.04
Network

I then ran
sudo dpkg -i cuda-repo-ubuntu1804_10.0.130-1_amd64.deb
sudo apt-key adv --fetch-keys https://developer.download.nvidia.com/compute/cuda/repos/ubuntu1804/x86_64/7fa2af80.pub
sudo apt-get update

The problem appears wthen i ran
sudo apt-get install cuda
I got the following error:

Reading package lists
 Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information
 Done
Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have
requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable
distribution that some required packages have not yet been created
or been moved out of Incoming.
The following information may help to resolve the situation:

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
cuda : Depends: cuda-10-0 (>= 10.0.130) but it is not going to be installed
E: Unable to correct problems, you have held broken packages.

what am i doing wrong?
How can I fix the problem ?

Thank you for your help.

Eric

4 Likes

hello:
do you solve this porblem ?

1 Like

Hello, anyone solve this problem yet? Same problem here

Guys seriously, will someone reply here?! This method is written on your official page and yet doesn’t work. How sad is that it’s a huge pain to install simple drivers because NVIDIA coders haven’t done their work well!

35 Likes

Same problem as I installed the nvidia-415 for my rtx 2070.
You should take a look at this.
https://askubuntu.com/questions/598607/package-dependency-problem-while-installing-cuda-on-ubuntu-14-04